Header Ads

The Decemberists announce new album, The King Is Dead

The Decemberists appear to be the first of many bands that will drop a record in 2011, when they drop their much anticipated sixth studio album on January 11th via Capitol Records. According to Direct Current, the followup to 2009’s Hazards of Love will be titled The King Is Dead and will consist of 10 tracks, three of which feature collaborations with R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck. In fact, the end result, according to frontman Colin Meloy, is a record heavily inspired by Buck’s legendary outfit, with a sound that is said to be more “straightforward, driving folk/rock.”

Of the 10 tracks included, Meloy and Co. have already debuted “Down by the Water”, “Rise to Me”, and “June Hymn” in live settings. (Click on the songs’ corresponding links to hear/watch live clips). The complete tracklist follows.

The King Is Dead Tracklist:
01. Don’t Carry It All
02. Calamity Song
03. Rise to Me
04. Rox in the Box
05. January Hymn
06. Down By the Water
07. All Arise!
08. June Hymn
09. This Is Why We Fight
10. Dear Avery

No comments

Powered by Blogger.