Header Ads

Album Review: One Jug Of Wine, Two Vessels (Re-Issue).

Album Review: One Jug Of Wine, Two Vessels (Re-Issue).

One Jug Of Wine, Two Vessels had originally been released in 2004. It was a collaborative split featuring six tracks, that came to be thanks to the musical appreciation between two musicians, Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes), and Jake Bellows(Neva Dinova), Respectively. The original split featured six tracks, written and recorded by both bands, at Saddle Creek Records, in Omaha, Nebraska. The re-issued version features four new tracks, two by each artist, along with the original six tracks.

We'll start off with the two new Neva Dinova tracks titled "Roller Skating" and "Someones Love."

"Roller Skating."

Roller Skating is a great track. A bit melancholy and mad at the beginning, but it perks up as the beats change and grow faster. When it hits the chorus, the mood changes to a more profoundly happy sound as Jake sings about apologies and doing anything for the one you love. What a great start to the re-issued split.

"Someones Love."

This song is absolutely perfect, beginning with the chorus. Since the day that Saddle Creek Records had released the teaser video with the new tracks, this chorus had been stuck in my head. It's catchier than any song I've heard in quite a while. Cute lyrics, great beat. It's the epitome of the Saddle Creek sound.
The two new Neva Dinova tracks were excellent, and I can't wait for more. Hopefully they'll gain a wider audience with the re-issue of this split. They more than deserve it.

On to the two new Bright Eyes tracks.

I don't even know where to begin, when it comes to these two new tracks "Happy Accident" and "I Know You." Bright Eyes, the moniker of Conor Oberst, hasn't really done much since Cassadaga was released, because Conor had been working with his side projects, Mystic Valley Band, and the supergroup Monsters Of Folk, so it's really exciting to get something new.

"Happy Accident."

Starts out a bit slow, picks up the pace a bit as Conor sings about becoming what you don't want to become, and not knowing where to find your happy place. The song is not classic Bright Eyes, yet, it's not really different from other Bright Eyes tracks. As always, Conor has impressed me, I'm pretty sure he could do no wrong, musically.

"I Know You."

This song stood out the most on the teaser that Saddle Creek had released, and it stands out the most on the split as well. The lyrics are absolutely amazing, and you can completely grasp the feeling of the song with the music. It's perfect. It's now my favorite Bright Eyes song (used to be "Ship In A Bottle.")

To sum it all up, the split is nothing short of amazing, worth the wait, and worth more than what your going to pay for it. Make sure to download it on iTunes, purchase it from Saddle Creek, or your local record store. You will not regret it, and it will hold you over until the new(and final) Bright Eyes Album is released in Fall 2010. If your seeking some new Neva Dinova, the best I can tell you is that the front man (Jake Bellows) is releasing songs one at a time for download on his website, www.JakeBellows.com. Thanks for reading, and enjoy the album.


  1. I love it too what a record

  2. Your right, Jake and his band do need more recognition. As far as Conor goes, your right, again. He can do no wrong, when it comes to music. I am a tad bit sad that he's going to retire the Bright Eyes name, though.

  3. you write great stuff, and you have the best taste in music. your parents should be proud. i love this split ive been waiting forever for it, like you said, worth the wait.

  4. Thanks for the kind words, everyone!

  5. Too good to be true.

  6. I always wonder what Conor is thinking when he writes his lyrics and who they are about.

  7. I'm wide awake, it's morning.

  8. now if only if had about 10 new tracks


Powered by Blogger.